Talk To us

Vice President of INEGI appointed University of Porto’s researcher of the year

11 March 2020

Pedro Camanho, researcher and vice-president of INEGI and Full Professor at the Faculty of Engineering of the University of Porto (FEUP), was distinguished with the Scientific Excellence Award by the University of Porto, having been ed unanimously by the jury.

The professor and researcher’s work has been notable in the study and simulation of mechanisms of deformation and fracture of advanced composite materials, and in the study and development of non-conventional composite materials. Work that contributed the obtention of this award, which aims to recognize the professors and scientists who stand out in the field of scientific research.

In response to the news, he said he felt "very honored”, and highlighted that the recognition "extends to my PhD students and colleagues who have inspired me over the years”.

This award joints many others Pedro Camanho has received over the years, such as the 2006 NASA H.J.E. Reid Award for Outstanding Scientific Paper, of the 2005 Young Researcher in Applied and Computational Mechanics Award from the Portuguese Association of Theoretical, Applied and Computational Mechanics, the 2005-2009 Engineering Fracture Mechanics Most Cited Articles Award, and the 2016 Mechanics of Materials Highly Cited Research Award, among others.

More recently, a model he developed was integrated in Digimat, a reference software for engineers that accelerates the development of materials and composite structures.

Pedro Pedros professional career includes a degree in Mechanical Engineering from the Faculty of Engineering (1995), and a PhD from the Department of Aeronautics at the prestigious Imperial College London (United Kingdom) in 1999. That same year he returned to Portugal and joined the Department of Mechanical Engineering at FEUP and assumed the position of director of the Structural Integrity Unit at INEGI.

Professor since 2014, he is currently president of the Associated Laboratory of Energy, Transport and Aerospace (LAETA) and vice president of INEGI. He is also a member of the Advisory Board of the European Mechanical Society (EUROMECH), a member of the Board of the European Composite Materials Society (ESCM) and of the Engineering Panel of the European Research Council (ERC).
Cookie Policy

This site uses cookies. When browsing the site, you are consenting its use.   Learn more

I understood